The Truth about Reactive Attachment Disorder

This is a great article.

Raising 5 Kids With Disabilities and Remaining Sane Blog

I witnessed a conversation with the sister of a boy who had been adopted at the age of 2 years old after being abused by his biological parents. As an adult “he has always been in trouble with the law and has been in jail.” Upon hearing this, a deep sorrow enveloped me. I have such empathy for that child, having three of my own adopted at a later age. It was with a sweet naiveté that I had them join our family, believing that love can cure all. Despite our family’s best efforts, love did NOT cure all. To pretend that it did does a disservice to all of those families living with similar children. As brightly as I may portray our family, (and they ARE wonderful children whom I have never regretted adopting,) they have serious disabilities when it comes to social norms. They have reactive attachment disorder.

View original post 1,016 more words

One comment on “The Truth about Reactive Attachment Disorder

  1. Thank you for sharing my post on reactive attachment disorder. I happen to work in the field of early intervention and we regularly use infant massage with the children in our program. It does wonders for the parent/child bond!

    Like

Leave a Reply

